Australia have announced their squad for the upcoming World T20 series in India with several changes to the side that has just faced New Zealand in an ODI series.

The squad comprises of  newcomers Peter Nevill, Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa. Steven Smith has been named as the new captain, replacing Aaron Finch who is still considered a hugely important part of the side.

Hannah Peters/Getty Images Sport

Mitchell Marsh in particular was happy with the inclusion of the aforementioned Nevill. He told ESPN

We want Australia’s best wicket-keeper playing in this tournament and we consider Peter Nevill to be the best in the country right now.

Marsh also had words to say about the deposed captain, Aaron Finch, with whom it seems he – as the rest of the squad – are still on extremely positive terms.

Aaron Finch has done a very good job captaining Australia in T20 cricket…He will have benefited enormously from the leadership opportunity and will remain a highly respected leader within the Australian squad.

Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images Sport

Australia will be hoping to improve on their disappointing record in Twenty20’s biggest international tournament, where they have only appeared in one final, losing to England in 2010.

The final squad list is as follows:

Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, James Faulkner, Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill (wk), Andrew Tye, Shane Watson, Adam Zampa