Every year the Wisden Cricketer’s Almanack publishes its list of the five cricketers of the year, and this year marks a historic landmark in the evolution of the publication.

For the first time in the history of the awards, three of the five cricketers named are women. The first woman to be named to the list was England batsman Claire Taylor back in the 2009 iteration of the list, and 2018 marks a further milestone for the recognition of the woman’s game.

With three of the five players members of England’s victorious World Cup squad, it seems the impact of the success has reverberated across the cricketing world.

This year’s volume is mindful of challenges ahead, however. An article by Tanya Aldred approaches sexism in cricket, and is scathing in tone.

Ultimately, the Wisden cricketers of the year is a celebration of cricketing excellence – and 2018 is no different.

Gareth Copley/Getty Images Sport Start slideshow